Innocence

I wrote this for my sister’s project, about three years ago. I believe that putting it here wont count as plagiarism, right? 🙂

Enjoy:

 

I wish I could turn back from this path I took

I want to return to my golden age

To rewrite my life like an author penning a book

Where my ignorance will remain immortal and never age

 

In my foolishness, I discarded my innocence

I believed it was akin to a lack of common sense

So I bowed to peer pressure and created a new me

Now I can barely remember who I used to be

 

I have decayed in body, rotted in mind

With no one to turn to for help, as I’m supposed to be great

I doubt I’d even recognize sympathy, as I’m emotionally blind

And all I can do now is lament as a prisoner of my own fate

 

Here I am now, full of experience

Fully aware that noting would suffice

As a substitute for the price of my sacrifice

Of my youth; I’ll never return to innocence

 

2 responses to “Innocence

Leave a Reply

